Committee Approves Six Bills and Four Nominations

June 16, 2021

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation today approved six bills and four nominations, which are now all subject to approval by the full Senate.

Chair Maria Cantwell (D-WA) provided the following statement on committee approval of the Surface Transportation Investment Act of 2021:

“The main focus of today's markup is the Surface Transportation Investment Act of 2021, and Senator Wicker and I introduced this legislation last week. It makes a big down payment, $78 billion, on rebuilding and revamping our nation's critical transportation infrastructure, a key to our economic future and creating more jobs.”

1. S. 66, South Florida Clean Coastal Waters Act of 2021

2. S. 1747, Fluke Fairness Act of 2021

a. Wicker 1

3. S. 1890, Protecting Consumers from Travel Fraud Act

a. Klobuchar substitute

4. S. 1894, Regional Ocean Partnership Act

a. Wicker substitute

b. Lee 1 (modified)

5. S. 1995, Sport Fish Restoration and Recreational Boating Safety Act of 2021

6. S. 2016, Surface Transportation Investment Act

kk. Rosen 3 modified by Rosen 3 (modified)

7. Nomination of Col. Pamela Melroy to be Deputy Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (PN406)

8. Nomination of Mr. Carlos Monje to be Undersecretary of Transportation for Policy (PN437)

9. Nomination of Dr. Richard Spinrad to be Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere


10. Coast Guard Promotions (PN371, PN372, PN424, PN474, PN475)