Executive Session - American Innovation and Competitiveness Act, Other Items

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, Transportation will hold an executive session on Wednesday, June 29, 2016, at 10:00 a.m. to consider the following legislation measures and pending nominations.

Click here for more information on the nominees.

1.    S. 3084, The American Innovation and Competitiveness Act, Sponsors: Sens. Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.)

2.    S. 827, Improving Rural Call Quality and Reliability Act of 2015, Sponsors: Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Angus King (Ind-Maine), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.)

3.    S. 2997, Securing Access to Networks in Disasters Act of 2016, Sponsors: Sens. Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.)

4.    S. 1717, to amend title 46, United States Code, to exempt old vessels from certain requirements if improvements made, Sponsors: Sens. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), David Vitter (R-La.)

5.    S. 3088, Deadline for Compliance with Alternative Safety Compliance Program, Sponsor: Sens. Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)

6.    S. 3087, American Fisheries Advisory Committee Act, Sponsors: Sens. Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)

7.    S. 3059, Marine Mammal Research and Response Act of 2016, Sponsors: Sens. Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)

8.    S. 2219, The Outdoor Recreation Jobs and Economic Impact Act of 2015, Sponsors: Sens. Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Steve Daines (D-Mont.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.)

9.    S. 3086, A bill to reauthorize and amend the Marine Debris Act to promote international action to reduce marine debris and for other purposes, Sponsor: Sen. Cory Booker (D-N.J.)

10.    S.3099, Access for Sportfishing Act of 2016, Sponsor: Sen. Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.)

11.    Nomination of Peggy E. Gustafson to be Inspector General, Department of Commerce

12.     Nomination of Michael A. Khouri to be a Federal Maritime Commissioner (reappointment)
* Agenda subject to change

Click here for markup results.

Hearing Details:
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
10:00 a.m. ET
Full Committee Hearing
Senate Russell Building 253
A live video of the markup and additional information will be available on www.commerce.senate.gov.

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:

  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Majority Statement

  • Chairman John Thune

Minority Statement

  • Bill Nelson