Committee Approves FAA Reauthorization Through 2021

June 29, 2017

WASHINGTON – The Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation today approved the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) reauthorization, three other bills, and three nominees subject to Senate confirmation by voice votes.

Chairman John Thune (R-S.D.) provided the following statement on committee approval of the FAA reauthorization:

“This passenger-friendly aviation reform legislation improves safety and incorporates over 50 amendments offered by both committee Democrats and Republicans,” said Thune. “In preparing for the future of aviation, our committee has acted to continue advancing unmanned aircraft systems and other aviation innovations while offering airline passengers new protections following recent incidents.”

Bills and nominations considered are as follows (approved by voice vote unless otherwise noted):

1.    S. 1405, Federal Aviation Administration Reauthorization Act of 2017, Sponsors: Sens. John Thune (R-S.D.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)

oo. Lee 3
bbb. Thune 1
a. Duckworth 1 to Thune 1, not agreed to by 13-14

2.    S. 875, To require the Comptroller General of the United States to conduct a study and submit a report on filing requirements under the Universal Service Fund programs, Sponsor: Sen. Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)

3.    S. 1426, United States Center for Safe Sport Authorization Act of 2017, Sponsors: Sens. John Thune (R-S.D.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.)

4.    S. 1393, Jobs for Our Heroes Act, Sponsors: Sens. John Cornyn (R-Texas), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.)

5.    Nomination of Vice Admiral David P. Pekoske, of Maryland, to be Assistant Secretary of Homeland Security, Transportation Security Administration

6.    Nomination of Robert L. Sumwalt III, of South Carolina, to be a Member of the National Transportation Safety Board

7.    Nomination of Derek Kan, of California, to be Under Secretary of Transportation for Policy

Click here for additional information on nominees.

Click here for information on the FAA Reauthorization Act as introduced.