Chairman Rockefeller Statement on Nominees Confirmed

June 26, 2009

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Senator John D (Jay) Rockefeller IV (D-WV), Chairman of the U.S. Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, issued the following statement regarding the U.S. Senate’s vote to confirm Mr. Julius Genachowski to be Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission, Mr. Robert C. McDowell, confirmed to be Commissioner of the Federal Communications Commission, and Mr. Lawrence Strickling, to be the Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information at the National Telecommunications and Information Administration.
“I am pleased to see the President’s nominees, Mr. Julius Genachowski, Mr. Robert C. McDowell, and Mr. Lawrence Strickling confirmed by the United States Senate. Mr. Genachowski offers the public and private sector experience needed to reinvigorate the FCC and put consumers first. From the content that gets broadcast into millions of living rooms throughout America, to the broadband networks that can bring equal opportunities to our largest cities and our smallest rural towns – the FCC oversees it all.  From managing the digital television transition, to distributing the $4.7 billion set aside for stimulating broadband deployment in the recovery package, to navigating issues of Internet governance, Mr. Strickling and the NTIA have substantial powers – and substantial responsibilities.  I look forward to Mr. Genachowski, Mr. McDowell, and Mr. Strickling’s service to our country and a future of good and honest communications policy.”