Senate Passes Resolution Honoring Kenneth Mead

Co-Chairmen Stevens and Inouye Introduce Measure Recognizing the Former Inspector General of the Department of Transportation

February 17, 2006

Washington, DC - Today the Senate passed by unanimous consent a resolution recognizing Kenneth M. Mead’s service as the Inspector General of the Department of Transportation. Senate Commerce Committee Chairman Ted Stevens (R-Alaska) and Co-Chairman Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii) introduced the resolution in honor of Mead, who retired effective February 11, 2006. The measure is co-sponsored by Committee Members John McCain (R-Ariz.), Conrad Burns (R-Mont.), Trent Lott (R-Miss.), John Sununu (R-N.H.), Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.), Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), and Mark Pryor (D-Ark.).

Mead announced his retirement after nearly nine years of service as the Inspector General of the Department of Transportation. The resolution commended Mead and his staff for conducting independent and impartial investigations on a series of issues affecting transportation and transportation policy. The wide-range of federal transportation policies and programs included aviation operations and safety, highway, auto and truck operations and safety, transportation security, rail operations and safety, and pipeline and hazardous materials transportation safety.

"Kenneth Mead served this nation and the Department of Transportation with exemplary professionalism and dedication," said Chairman Stevens. "Especially in the aftermath of the tragic events of September 11, 2001, Mr. Mead demonstrated an excellence in leadership as he and his staff addressed the challenges surrounding aviation safety and security. He has left an indelible mark on the Department of Transportation."