Senate Confirms Jennifer Homendy for Another Term as NTSB Chair

May 14, 2024

Tonight, the U.S. Senate unanimously voted to confirm Jennifer Homendy to serve another five-year term on the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) and for another three-year term as Chair of the Board. U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Chair of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, applauded the Senate’s unanimous vote:

“Jennifer Homendy has guided the NTSB through some of the most high-profile transportation accidents this nation has seen in recent memory – from the East Palestine train derailment to the Alaska Airlines door plug accident and now the Francis Scott Key Bridge collapse. We’re fortunate that Chair Homendy will continue leading the agency’s critical investigative work with independence and integrity, and will continue advocating for ways to make the nation’s transportation system safer for Americans. I’m glad we were able to reauthorize the NTSB for five years, with new tools and resources needed to thoroughly investigate accidents across the country.”

Sen. Cantwell successfully shepherded her nomination through the Committee with unanimous approval on May 1, 2024, and held her re-nomination hearing April 10, 2024.