Cantwell Applauds Senate Confirmation of FCC Commissioners

September 30, 2023

Tonight, the U.S. Senate unanimously voted to confirm Geoffrey Starks and Brendan Carr to serve another term as Commissioners on the Federal Communications Commission (FCC). U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Chair of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, released the following statement applauding the confirmations, which further secures the agency’s Democratic majority:

“Americans need a fully-equipped FCC that is ready to deliver on an agenda that puts consumers first. The agency cannot afford another deadlock or delay when it comes to expanding affordable broadband, protecting the security of our communications networks, driving innovative spectrum policies, and strengthening our local news. Today’s confirmation of Geoffrey Starks and Brendan Carr allows the FCC to have full membership and move forward.”

Starks currently serves as an FCC Commissioner and was renominated by President Biden on May 30, 2023. The Committee held his nomination hearing on June 22 and advanced his nomination on July 12.

Last week, the Senate confirmed Anna Gomez to be the fifth Commissioner, completing the five-member Commission and establishing a new Democratic majority for the first time since President Biden took office.