Executive Session

March 24, 2021


WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation will hold an executive session on Wednesday, March 24, 2021 to consider the agenda below. Directly following the executive session, the committee will hold a full hearing titled, “Driving the Road to Recovery: Rebuilding America’s Transportation Infrastructure.” This hearing will examine surface transportation infrastructure needs across the country, including freight, rail, highway, and port infrastructure, and the impact of those needs on surface transportation reauthorization. A panel of expert witnesses will discuss the current challenges posed by our transportation infrastructure at the local, state, and federal level, and how federal action improve our nation’s transportation systems and boost our economy.


  • Nomination of Polly Trottenberg, of New York, to be Deputy Secretary of the United States Department of Transportation
  • Coast Guard Promotion

Executive Session Details:

Wednesday, March 24, 2021

10:00 A.M.

Full Committee (No Remote Option)

Executive Session #5


Please Note: Once the markup has concluded, we will go straight into the full committee hearing


  • The Honorable John D. Porcari, Former Deputy Secretary of Transportation; Managing Partner, 3P Enterprises
  • Mr. Douglas Hooker, Executive Director, Atlanta Regional Commission
  • The Honorable Toby Barker, Mayor, City of Hattiesburg, MS
  • Mr. Mark McAndrews, Director, Port of Pascagoula

*Witness list subject to change

Hearing Details:

Wednesday, March 24, 2021

Full Committee (Hybrid)

Hearing Titled: “Driving the Road to Recovery: Rebuilding America’s Transportation Infrastructure”


This hearing will take place in the Hart Senate Office Building 216. Witness testimony, opening statements, and a live video of the hearing will be available on www.commerce.senate.gov.

*In order to maintain physical distancing as advised by the Office of the Attending Physician, seating for credentialed press will be limited throughout the course of the markup. Due to current limited access to the Capitol complex, the general public is encouraged to view this markup via the live stream. 



Majority Statement

  • Chair Maria Cantwell

Minority Statement

  • Ranking Member Roger Wicker

Witness Panel 1