Chair Cantwell Announces Subcommittee Leadership for the 117th Congress

February 19, 2021

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Chair of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, and Ranking Member Roger Wicker (R-MS), announced the new Commerce subcommittee structure and leadership for the 117th Congress.

“Americans are counting on us to deliver urgent economic relief from this pandemic, help American workers and businesses compete all over the world, and protect consumers and their families with the strongest possible safety standards,” said Chair Cantwell. “I am pleased to announce a slate of subcommittee assignments that will help us meet the needs of the American people, and I look forward to working with the new administration and my colleagues on this committee on both sides of the aisle as we aggressively tackle these challenges.”

“These subcommittees cover a broad range of issues affecting our economy and the American people,” said Ranking Member Wicker. “I look forward to working with the leaders of each subcommittee in the bipartisan tradition of this Committee.”

The assignments are as follows:

Subcommittee on Aviation Safety, Operations, and Innovation: Chair Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ); Ranking Member Ted Cruz (R-TX)

Subcommittee on Communications, Media, and Broadband: Chair Ben Ray Luján (D-NM); Ranking Member John Thune (R-SD)

Subcommittee on Surface Transportation, Maritime, Freight, and Ports: Chair Gary Peters (D-MI); Ranking Member Deb Fischer (R-NE)

Subcommittee on Oceans, Fisheries, Climate Change, and Manufacturing: Chair Tammy Baldwin (D-WI); Ranking Member Dan Sullivan (R-AK)

Subcommittee on Consumer Protection, Product Safety, and Data Security: Chair Richard Blumenthal (D-CT); Ranking Member Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)

Subcommittee on Space and Science: Chair John Hickenlooper (D-CO); Ranking Member Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)

Subcommittee on Tourism, Trade, and Export Promotion: Chair Jacky Rosen (D-NV);  Ranking Member Rick Scott (R-FL)