Next Steps for Positive Train Control Implementation

U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker, R-Miss., chairman of the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, will convene a hearing titled, “Next Steps for Positive Train Control Implementation,” at 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, July 31, 2019. This hearing will focus on the implementation of positive train control (PTC) and anticipated compliance with the December 31, 2020 deadline. Witnesses will discuss the current status of PTC implementation and any challenges railroads may face by the final deadline.

  • The Honorable Ronald Batory, Administrator, Federal Railroad Administration
  • Mr.  Robert Bourg, Vice President, Strategy and Growth, Wabtec Corporation 
  • Mr. Jim Derwinski, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, Metra
  • Ms. Susan Fleming, Director of Physical Infrastructure, Government Accountability Office
  • Mr. Chris Matthews, Assistant Vice President, Network Control Systems, BNSF Railway  
*Witness list subject to change
Hearing Details:
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
2:00 p.m.
Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
This hearing will take place in the Hart Senate Office Building 216. Witness testimony, opening statements, and a live video of the hearing will be available on

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:

  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Majority Statement

  • Chairman Roger Wicker

Minority Statement

  • Ranking Member Maria Cantwell


  • The Honorable Ronald Batory

    Federal Railroad Administration
    Download Testimony (331.79 KB)
  • Mr. Robert Bourg

    Vice President, Strategy and Growth
    Wabtec Corporation
    Download Testimony (421.75 KB)
  • Mr. Jim Derwinski

    Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director
    Download Testimony (197.24 KB)
  • Ms. Susan Fleming

    Director of Physical Infrastructure
    Government Accountability Office
    Download Testimony (391.09 KB)
  • Mr. Chris Matthews

    Assistant Vice President
    Network Control Systems, BNSF Railway
    Download Testimony (283.03 KB)