Committee Advances FAA Administrator Nomination to Full Senate

The committee also approved a nomination to the Surface Transportation Board, Coast Guard promotions, and 10 legislative items.

July 10, 2019

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation today approved 10 bills and the nomination for the Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration, one nominee to the Surface Transportation Board, and several Coast Guard promotions which are now all subject to approval by the full Senate.

“The committee has spent the past two months reviewing any and all information regarding Stephen Dickson’s nomination, and after concluding our due diligence, the committee has reported him favorably,” said Wicker. “I look forward to working with my colleagues to confirm Mr. Dickson to this critically important role at the FAA. In addition to approving Mr. Dickson’s nomination, the committee approved a nomination to the Surface Transportation Board, as well as several Coast Guard promotions. The committee also advanced 10 pieces of legislation to the full Senate, including the HOT CARS Act, a bipartisan bill that would lead to the installation of technology to mitigate the dangers of leaving children unattended in hot vehicles.”

Bills and nominations considered are as follows (approved by voice vote unless otherwise noted):

1.       Nomination of Stephen M. Dickson, of Georgia, to be Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration (Roll call vote: 14-12)

2.       Nomination of Michelle A. Schultz, of Pennsylvania, to be a Member of the Surface Transportation Board

3.       Coast Guard Promotions

4.       S. 149, Stop Senior Scams Act, Sponsors: Sens. Robert Casey (D-Pa.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)

a. Moran Substitute 

b. Lee 1

5.       S. 153, Supporting Veterans in STEM Careers Act, Sponsors: Sens. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.)

a. Klobuchar Substitute

b. Gardner 1 (modified)

c. Lee 1

6.       S. 384, the Composites Standards Act, Sponsors: Sens. Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.)

a. Capito 1

b. Markey 1 (modified)

7.       S. 553, Blockchain Promotion Act, Sponsors: Sens. Todd Young (R-Ind.), Edward Markey (D-Mass.) 

a. Lee 1

8.       S. 1342, Great Lakes Environmental Sensitivity Index Act, Sponsors: Sens. Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Todd Young (R-Ind.)

a. Lee 1

9.       S. 1427, Global Leadership in Advanced Manufacturing Act, Sponsors: Sens. Christopher Coons (D-Del.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)

a. Gardner Substitute

10.   S. 1601, Helping Overcome Trauma for Children Alone in the Rear Seat (HOT CARS) Act, Sponsors: Sens. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)

11.   S. 1611, Developing Innovation and Growing the Internet of Things (DIGIT) Act, Sponsors: Sens. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii)

a. Lee 1

b. Lee 2

12.   S. 1694, One Small Step to Protect Human Heritage in Space Act, Sponsors: Sens. Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Ted Cruz (R-Tex.)

a. Peters, Cruz Substitute

13.   S. 1881, Veterans Expedited TSA Screening (VETS) Safe Travel Act, Sponsors: Sens. Todd Young (R-Ind.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.)