Committee Approves Four Bills, Nominations

September 5, 2018

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation today, approved four bills, including House of Representatives companion legislation to S. 3395, the Supporting Veterans in STEM Careers Act, introduced in the Senate by Sen. Dean Heller (R-Nev.). In addition to the legislative measures, the committee approved four nominees subject to Senate confirmation.

Bills and nomination considered are as follows (approved by voice vote unless otherwise noted):

1.    S. 1965, Allowing Alaska IVORY Act, Sponsor: Sens. Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
a.    Sullivan substitute

 2.    S. 2773, Driftnet Modernization and Bycatch Reduction Act, Sponsors: Sens. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.)
a.    Capito 1 

3.    S. 3367, Department of Transportation Reports Harmonization Act, Sponsor: Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.)
a.    Thune substitute (modified) 

4.    H.R. 4323, Supporting Veterans in STEM Careers Act, Sponsors: Reps. Neal Dunn (R-Fla.), Ralph Lee Abraham (R-La.), Brian Babin (R-Texas), Jim Banks (R-Ind.), Elizabeth Etsy (D-Conn.), Stephen Knight (R-Calif.), Barry Loudermilk (R-Ga.), Roger Marshal (R-Kan.), Beto O’Rourke (D-Texas), Lamar Smith (R-Texas), Mark Takano (D-Calif.) 
a.    Thune substitute (modified) 

5.    Nomination of Rick Dearborn, of Oklahoma, to be a Director of the Amtrak Board of Directors (Roll call vote: 14-13)

6.    Nomination of Kelvin Droegemeier, of Oklahoma, to be Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy

7.    Nomination of James Morhard, of Virginia, to be Deputy Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration

8.    Nomination of Joel Szabat, of Maryland, to be an Assistant Secretary of Transportation