Committee Approves Seven Bills, Surface Transportation Board Nomination

August 1, 2018

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation today, approved seven bills, and one nominee to the Surface Transportation Board, subject to Senate confirmation.

Bills and nomination considered are as follows (approved by voice vote unless otherwise noted):


1.  S. 3277, Space Frontier Act of 2018, Sponsors: Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.)
  1. Cruz Substitute (modified)
  2. Inhofe 1 (modified)
  3. Peters 1 (modified) 
2.  S. 2242, the COASTAL Implementation Act of 2017, Sponsor: Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)
  1. Wicker substitute (modified)

3.  S. 2861, Passenger Rail Crew Protection Parity Act, Sponsors: Sens. Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.)

  1. Duckworth substitute (modified)
4.  S. 3119, the Endangered Salmon Predation Prevention Act, Sponsors: Sens. James Risch (R-Idaho), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)
  1. Cantwell substitute (modified)
5.  S. 3143, the National Quantum Initiative Act, Sponsors: Sens. John Thune (R-S.D.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.)
  1. Thune substitute (modified)
  2. Markey 1 (modified)
  3. Markey 2 (modified)
  4. Markey 3 (modified)

6.  S. 3265, Waterfront Community Revitalization and Resiliency Act, Sponsor: Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.)

7.  S. 3273, Port Operations, Research, and Technology Act, Sponsor: Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)

  1. Lee 1 (modified)

8.      Nomination of Martin Oberman, of Illinois, to be a Member of the Surface Transportation Board