Statement on Nomination of Peter Feldman to the Consumer Product Safety Commission

June 4, 2018

WASHINGTONU.S. Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.), chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, issued the following statement on the nomination of Peter Feldman, currently a senior counsel at the Commerce Committee, to serve as a commissioner on the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC):

“Peter has been part of the Commerce Committee team and an invaluable resource during my entire tenure as ranking member and chairman. While I will miss his steady hand in our committee’s bipartisan efforts to fight for consumer safety and fairness, the Consumer Product Safety Commission will benefit from his expertise and leadership. Once the committee receives the formal nomination and other required submissions, I expect we will move quickly to convene a confirmation hearing.”

CPSC is an independent federal regulatory agency formed in 1972 with a mission to protect the public against unreasonable risks of injury or death from consumer products through education, safety standards activities, regulation, and enforcement. The agency is headed by five commissioners nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate for staggered seven-year terms.