Nomination Hearing

U.S. Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.), chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, will convene a hearing at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, February 14, 2018, for the president’s nominees to serve as Federal Trade Commissioners.

The nominees’ questionnaires are available at


  • Mr. Joseph Simons, of Virginia, to be a Federal Trade Commissioner, Chairman Designate
  • Mr. Rohit Chopra, of New York, to be a Federal Trade Commissioner
  • Mr. Noah Joshua Phillips, of Maryland, to be a Federal Trade Commissioner 
  • Ms. Christine S. Wilson, of Virginia, to be a Federal Trade Commissioner

Hearing Details:

Wednesday, February 14, 2018
9:30 a.m.
Full Committee 

This hearing will take place in Hart Senate Office Building, Room 216. Witness testimony, opening statements, and a live video of the hearing will be available on

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:

  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Majority Statement

  • Chairman John Thune

Minority Statement

  • Bill Nelson