Nomination Hearing - FCC

U.S. Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.), chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, will convene a nomination hearing at 10:00 a.m. in Dirksen G50 on Wednesday, July 19, 2017.

“This hearing will continue to advance our committee’s fulfillment of its constitutional charge to consider nominees appointed by the President for federal office,” said Thune. “The FCC has significant responsibilities over one of the most innovative sectors of our economy and I look forward to asking these qualified nominees about challenges to advancing the public interest.”

The nominees’ questionnaires are available at


- Ajit Varadaraj Pai, of Kansas, to be a Member of the Federal Communications Commission (Reappointment)
- Jessica Rosenworcel, of Connecticut, to be a Member of the Federal Communications Commission (Reappointment)
- Brendan Carr, of Virginia, to be a Member of the Federal Communications Commission

Hearing Details:

Wednesday, July 19, 2017
10:00 a.m.
Full committee

This hearing will take place in Dirksen Senate Office Building, Room G50. Witness testimony, opening statements, and a live video of the hearing will be available on

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:

  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Majority Statement

  • Chairman John Thune

Minority Statement

  • Bill Nelson