Senate Confirms Commerce Committee Presidential Nominees

October 5, 2017

WASHINGTON – U.S. Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.), chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, issued the following statement on the confirmation of three administration positions appointed by President Donald Trump.

“Confirming these nominees is another important step toward filling key positions in the government and I commend my colleagues in the Senate for such a speedy confirmation process,” said Thune. “I would like to congratulate each of the newly confirmed nominees and look forward to working with them in the coming months.”

Department of Commerce

    -  Timothy Gallaudet, of California, to be Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere
    -  Walter G. Copan, of Colorado, to be Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology

Department of Transportation

    -  Howard R. Elliott, of Indiana, to be Administrator of the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, Department of Transportation