Commerce Approves FCC Reauthorization, Internet of Things Bill, and Five Other Bills

April 27, 2016

WASHINGTON – The Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation today approved the reauthorization for the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), six other bills, and nominations.

Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.), committee chairman and bill sponsor, provided the following statement on approval of the FCC reauthorization bill:

“Today, the Commerce Committee approved a measure to reauthorize the FCC for the first time in 25 years,” said Thune. “It’s been a priority of mine this Congress to formally reauthorize the FCC and I’m pleased that we approved this long-overdue, noncontroversial measure. The Commerce Committee has been very active this Congress doing the important work of approving bills like the FCC reauthorization while pushing forward on thoughtful reforms.”

Bills and nominations approved are as follows (approved by voice vote unless otherwise noted):

1.    S. 2644 (modified substitute), The FCC Reauthorization Act of 2016, Sponsor: Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.)
c.    Booker 1
d.    Cantwell 1
f.    Daines 1
g.    Daines 2
l.    Manchin 1
m.    Manchin 3
o.    Moran 2
p.    Peters 1
r.    Sullivan 1

2.    S. 421, Federal Communications Commission Process Reform Act of 2015, Sponsors: Sens. Dean Heller (R-Nev.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), approved with roll call vote of 13-11
a.   Daines 1
3.    S. 2607 (substitute amendment), Developing Innovation and Growing the Internet of Things (DIGIT) Act, Sponsors: Sens. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii)
a.    Daines 1
b.    Fischer 1
c.    Johnson 1
4.    S. 2508, Youth Sports Concussions Act, Sponsors: Sens. Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)
5.    S. 2829 (modified substitute), Maritime Administration Authorization and Enhancement Act for Fiscal Year 2017, Sponsors: Sens. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.)
a.    Blumenthal 1
b.    Blumenthal 2
c.    Blumenthal 3
e.    Nelson 1
f.    Rubio 1
i.    Wicker 2
6.    S. 2325, Digital Coast Act of 2015, Sponsors: Sens. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Lisa Murkowksi (R-Alaska), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)
b.    Thune 1
7.    S. 2817 (modified substitute), Space Weather Research and Forecasting Act, Sponsors: Sen. Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.)
a.    Markey 1
8.    Nominations for Promotion in the United States Coast Guard
a.    Two promotions to be Captain, U.S. Coast Guard Reserve
b.    Seven promotions to be Rear Admiral (Upper Half), U.S. Coast Guard
c.    Two promotions to be Lieutenant, U.S. Coast Guard
d.    Vice Admiral Charles Michel to be Admiral and Vice Commandant, U.S. Coast Guard
e.    Vice Admiral Charles Ray to be Deputy Commandant for Operations, U.S. Coast Guard
9.    Andrew Read, of North Carolina, to be a Member of the Marine Mammal Commission
Click here for additional information on nominees.