Senate Commerce Approves Eight Bills and FCC Commissioner Nomination

December 9, 2015

WASHINGTON – Today, the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation approved eight bills and the nomination of Jessica Rosenworcel to be a member of the Federal Communications Commission, among other nominations.
Bills and nominations considered are as follows (all passed by voice vote unless otherwise noted):
1.    S. 571, Pilot’s Bill of Rights 2, Sponsors: Sens. James Inhofe (R-Okla.), Joe Manchin (D-W.V.), and 68 bipartisan cosponsors*
a.    Passed with Manchin substitute amendment
2.    S. 2276, SAFE PIPES Act, Sponsors: Sens. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.)
b.    Passed with Ayotte 1 amendment
c.    Passed with Ayotte 3 modified amendment
c.    Passed with Markey 1 modified amendment
d.    Passed with Markey 2 modified amendment
e.    Passed with Markey 3 modified amendment
3.    S. 2361, the Airport Security Enhancement and Oversight Act, Sponsor: Sens. John Thune (R-S.D.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)
a.    Passed with Nelson 1 modified amendment
4.    H.R. 2843, TSA PreCheck Expansion Act, Sponsors: Reps. John Katko (R-N.Y.), Michael McCaul (R-Texas), Mike Rogers (R-Ala.)
a.    Passed with Thune 1 amendment
b.    Passed with Daines 1 amendment, 2nd degree
5.    S. 1886, Coordinated Ocean Monitoring and Research Act, Sponsors: Sens. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Ed Markey (D-Mass.)
6.    S. 1935, Waterfront Community Revitalization and Resiliency Act of 2015, Sponsors: Sens. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Angus King (I-Maine), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.)
a.    Passed with Booker substitute amendment
7.    S. 2058, Metropolitan Weather Hazards Protection Act of 2015, Sponsors: Sens. Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.)
a.    Passed with Cantwell modified substitute
8.    S. 2319, A bill to amend the Communications Act of 1934, Sponsor: Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.)
9.    Jessica Rosenworcel, of the District of Columbia, to be a Member of the Federal Communications Commission (reappointment)
10.    Nominations for Promotion in the United States Coast Guard
Click here for additional information on nominees.

*The committee considered three amendments to S.571 at its November 18, 2015 markup but did not complete consideration of the bill. Consideration of a new substitute amendment to S. 571 (and passage of the bill as amended) occurred at this markup.