The Cable Act at 20

July 24, 2012

253 Russell Senate Office Building

SCom: CommunicationsWASHINGTON, D.C.— The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation will hold a hearing next week on “The Cable Act at 20.” This hearing is a follow-up to the Commerce Committee hearing on April 24, 2012, which examined the future of online video. The Committee will consider the impact of the Cable Television and Consumer Protection Act of 1992 on the television marketplace and consumers twenty years after its passage.

“Two decades ago, we passed the Cable Act to empower consumers and provide them with expanded choices at lower rates,” said Chairman John D. (Jay) Rockefeller IV.  “Our hearing in April demonstrated just how much has changed in the past twenty years. But our goals for protecting consumers have not. We can’t look to the future of video without evaluating the Cable Act’s impact on the modern television marketplace and whether the legislation has achieved Congress’ goals. In particular, I want to take a close look at how we make sure that consumers do not continue to get caught in the crossfire in programming disputes, facing dark screens and losing access to news, sports, and other entertainment programming.”


Majority Statement

  • Senator John D. (Jay) Rockefeller IV

    U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation

Witness Panel 1

  • Ms. Melinda Witmer

    Executive Vice President & Chief Video and Content Officer
    Time Warner Cable
    Witmer Testimony (257.96 KB)
  • Ms. Colleen Abdoulah

    CEO and Chairwoman of the Board
    WOW! Internet, Cable, and Phone
  • Mr. Martin Franks

    Executive Vice President for Planning, Policy, and Government Affairs
    CBS Corporation
    Franks Testimony (99.75 KB)
  • Mr. Gordon Smith

    President and CEO
    National Association of Broadcasters
    Smith Testimony (135.14 KB)
  • Dr. Mark Cooper

    Director of Research
    Consumer Federation of America
    Cooper Testimony (829.12 KB)
  • Mr. Preston Padden

    Adjunct Professor of Law
    University of Colorado School of Law