Senator Hutchison Welcomes New Republican Members of Commerce Committee

January 21, 2009

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas), Ranking Member of the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee, today welcomed four new Republican members to the Senate Commerce Committee, Senator Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Senator Sam Brownback (R-Kan.), Senator Mel Martinez (R-Fla.) and Senator Mike Johanns (R-Neb.).

“I am pleased to welcome Senators Isakson, Brownback, Martinez and Johanns to the Senate Commerce Committee,” said Senator Hutchison.  “Our country faces many challenges in the weeks and months ahead, including the upcoming digital television transition and the need to reauthorize the Federal Aviation Administration.  I look forward to working with them on these and other important issues facing our Committee.”

111th Congress - Republican Committee Assignments – Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee:

Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas)
Olympia J. Snowe (R-Maine)
John Ensign (R-Nev.)
Jim DeMint (R-S.C.)
John Thune (R-S.D.)
Roger F. Wicker (R-Miss.)
Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.)
David Vitter (R-La.)
Sam Brownback (R-Kan.)
Mel Martinez (R-Fla.)
Mike Johanns (R-Neb.)





#  #  #