Federal Trade Commission Reauthorization

September 12, 2007

253 SR

The hearing will examine a diverse range of policy areas under the Federal Trade Commission’s (FTC) jurisdiction including: gas prices and oil price-gouging, the common carrier exemption, data security and identity theft, recent mergers and acquisitions, subprime lending, spam/spyware, and the Do Not Call Registry. In addition, the witnesses will provide suggestions for improving the Commission’s effectiveness in carrying out its mission.

The last FTC reauthorization statute was passed in 1996 during the 104th Congress. Although the Committee approved by voice vote the Federal Trade Commission Reauthorization Act on July 21, 2005, the legislation was not considered by the full Senate.


Minority Statement

  • Ted Stevens


Witness Panel 1

Witness Panel 2

  • Mr. Mark N. Cooper

    Director of Research
    Consumer Federation of America
  • Mr. Michael Calhoun

    Center for Responsible Lending
  • Mr. Chris Murray

    Senior Counsel
    Consumers Union
  • Mr. Ari Schwartz

    Deputy Director
    Center for Democracy and Technology
  • Mr. Martin Abrams

    Senior Policy Advisor and Executive Director
    Center for Information Policy Leadership