Hearing on Several Nominations

April 12, 2005


253 SR
Click here for a copy of the transcript for this hearing.

Senate Commerce Committee Co-Chairmen Ted Stevens (R-Alaska) and Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii) have scheduled a Full Committee hearing for Tuesday, April 12, 2005 at 10:00 am in room 253 of the Russell Building on the following nominees:
Click here for video of this hearing.

At the request of Senate Commerce Committee Co-Chairmen Ted Stevens (R-Alaska) and Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii), the United States Senate unanimously approved the nomination of Dr. Michael Griffin to be Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)on April 13, 2005. Senators Stevens and Inouye planned to consider the nomination at the Commerce Committee's mark-up on Thursday, April 14, 2005. However, Stevens and Inouye convinced their colleagues to approve the nomination quickly so that Dr. Griffin could immediately get to work assessing the safety of the Space Shuttle's expected return to flight.

The Senate confirmed Mr. Boardman, Ms. Nord, and Mr. Cobey by unanimous consent on April 28, 2005.


Witness Panel 1

  • The Honorable Paul Sarbanes

    United States Senator
  • U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)

  • The Honorable Elizabeth Dole

    United States Senator
    North Carolina

Witness Panel 2

Witness Panel 3

  • The Honorable William W. Cobey Jr.

    Nominated to be a Member of the Board of Directors
    Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
  • The Honorable Nancy A. Nord

    Acting Chairman
    U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission