Open Forum on Decency

November 29, 2005

50 SD

Senate Commerce Committee Chairman Ted Stevens (R-Alaska) today announced additional details for the Full Committee's "Open Forum on Decency". The Forum will be held on Tuesday, November 29, 2005 from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. in Room 50 on the ground floor of the Dirksen Building. Representatives from a wide variety of groups, including cable, broadcasting, and other content industries, are expected to attend to discuss the many issues surrounding decency.

 The Forum will be open to the public and the press.

The following representatives are expected to attend:

Kevin Martin, Chairman, Federal Communications Commission

Matt Polka, President and Chief Executive Officer, American Cable Association

Kyle McSlarrow, President and Chief Executive Officer, National Cable & Telecommunications Association

Dr. Frank Wright, President, National Religious Broadcasters

Bruce Reese, Joint Board Chairman, National Association of Broadcasters Preston Padden, Executive Vice President, Worldwide Government Affairs, The Walt Disney Company

Alan Wurtzel, President, Research and Media Development, NBC Networks Martin Franks, Executive Vice President, CBS

Lee Bartlett, Executive Vice President, Fox Broadcasting Company

Dr. Paul Crouch Sr., President, Trinity Broadcasting Network

Dan Fawcett, Executive Vice President, Business and Legal Affairs, DIRECTV

David Moskowitz, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Echostar Satellite LLC Steve Largent, President and Chief Executive Officer, CTIA-The Wireless Association

Jessica Marventano, Senior Vice President, Clear Channel Communications Bill Bailey, Senior Vice President, Regulatory and Government Affairs, XM Radio Inc.

 Jack Valenti, Motion Picture Association of America

David G. Kinney, Chief Executive Officer, PSVratings, Inc.

Jim Dyke, Executive Director, TV Watch

Tim Winter, Executive Director, Parents Television Council

Brent Bozell, President, Parents Television Council

Roberta Combs, President, Christian Coalition of America

Doug Lowenstein, President, Entertainment Software Association

Joey Pantoliano, Co-President, The Creative Coalition

Ed Merlis, Senior VP for Government and Regulatory Affairs, United States Telephone Association

Jim Steyer, Chief Executive Officer, Common Sense Media

Lisa Fager, President and Co-Founder, Industry Ears