Cantwell Applauds Senate Confirmation of FTC Commissioners

March 7, 2024

Slaughter confirmation further secures FTC’s Democratic majority to act on key consumer priorities

Tonight, the U.S. Senate unanimously confirmed Rebecca Slaughter, Melissa Holyoak and Andrew Ferguson to serve as Commissioners on the Federal Trade Commission (FTC). U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Chair of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, released the following statement applauding the confirmations:

“The FTC’s role of protecting consumers, workers and small businesses has never mattered more, as Americans reported losing more than $10 billion to scammers in 2023. Today’s reconfirmation of Slaughter, and addition of Holyoak and Ferguson demonstrates that Congress expects the agency to prioritize pressing issues, such as bringing transparency to rising prescription drug costs, enforcing online privacy, cracking down on junk fees and returning money to victims of fraud.”

Rebecca Slaughter currently serves as an FTC Commissioner and was renominated by President Biden on February 13, 2023, to serve another term. The Committee held the nomination hearing for the FTC and CPSC nominees on September 20 and passed the nominations out of the Committee on October 18, 2023.

The Senate also unanimously confirmed Fara Damelin to be Inspector General of the Federal Communications Commission and Doug Dziak to be a Commissioner on the Consumer Product Safety Commission.