Cantwell’s Statement on President Biden’s Nomination of Prabhakar for White House OSTP Director

June 21, 2022

 WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Chair of the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, which oversees the nation’s science policy, released the following statement regarding President Biden’s nomination of Dr. Arati Prabhakar to be Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP).

“Congratulations to Dr. Arati Prabhakar on her nomination to lead the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy,” said Sen. Cantwell. “Dr. Prabhakar will leverage her exceptional experience as an applied physicist, engineer and as Director of both the National Institute of Standards and Technology and Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, to best position the U.S. to compete on the global stage. She is the right person at the right time to support the U.S. innovation ecosystem, improve translational science, attract and retain diverse talent pools, and ensure that investments in research and development solve the real challenges facing the American people.”