Committee Approves 11 Bills, Coast Guard Nomination

July 24, 2019

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation today approved 11 bills and a Coast Guard nomination, all subject to approval by the full Senate.

Bills and nomination considered are as follows (approved by voice vote unless otherwise noted):

  1. S. 496, Young Fishermen’s Development Act, Sponsors: Sens. Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Edward Markey (D-Mass.)
  2. S. 893, Secure 5G and Beyond Act, Sponsors: Sens. John Cornyn (R-Texas), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)
    1. Wicker Substitute
    2. Cruz 2 (modified)
    3. Lee 1 (modified)
  3. S. 1148, Air Traffic Control Hiring Reform Act, Sponsors: Sens. John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Krysten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)
    1. Lee 1
    2. Lee 2 (modified)
    3. Wicker 1
  4. S. 1341, Safer Occupancy Furniture Flammability Act, Sponsors: Sens. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.)
    1. Blumenthal 1
  5. S. 1349, Secure Traveler Act (Thune, Peters), Sponsors: Sens. John Thune (R-S.D.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Gary Peters (D-Minn.)
  6. S. 1625, United States 5G Leadership Act, Sponsors: Sens. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Edward Markey (D-Mass.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)
    1. Wicker Substitute
    2. Blackburn 1(modified)
    3. Gardner 1
    4. Lee 3
    5. Scott 1 (modified)
    6. Scott 2
    7. Wicker 1
  7. S. 1822, Broadband Deployment Accuracy and Technological Availability (DATA) Act, Sponsors: Sens. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), John Thune (R-S.D.)
    1. Wicker Substitute
  8. S. 1858, Consumer Product Safety Commission Chief Information Office Parity Act, Sponsors: Sens. Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.)
    1. Moran Substitute
    2. Scott 1 (modified)
  9. S. 2035,Transportation Security Administration Credential and Endorsement Harmonization Act of 2019, Sponsors: Sens. Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Todd Young (R-Ind.)
  10. S. 2203, A Bill to Extend the Transfer of Electronic Travel Authorization System Fees from the Travel Promotion Fund to the Corporation for Travel Promotion (Brand USA) through Fiscal Year 2027, Sponsors: Sens. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.) 
    1. Lee 1 (modified)
    2. Blunt 1 to Lee 1
  11. S. 2166, Regional Ocean Partnership Act, Sponsors: Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)
    1. Wicker Substitute (modified)
    2. Markey 1
  12. Nomination of Rear Admiral Todd Wiemers, of Illinois, to serve as Director of the Coast Guard Reserves