Senate Confirms Commerce Committee Presidential Nominations

November 21, 2019

WASHINGTON – Today, the U.S. Senate confirmed a bipartisan nominations package. Eight of the nominees confirmed fall under the jurisdiction of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation. These confirmations include nominees for key administration positions appointed by President Donald J. Trump and promotions in the United States Coast Guard.

The Senate confirmed the following individuals:

  • Mr. Carl Whitney Bentzel, of Maryland, to be a Federal Maritime Commissioner for the term expiring June 30, 2024
  • Mr. John Kramer, of Florida, to be Chief Financial Officer, Department of Transportation
  • Mr. Ian Paul Steff, of Indiana, to be Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Director General of the United States and Foreign Commercial Service
  • Five Coast Guard Promotions