Thune Statement on FCC Confirmations

January 2, 2019

WASHINGTON – U.S. Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.), chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, issued the following statement on the Senate’s confirmation, by voice vote, of Geoffrey Starks to serve as a commissioner on the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) for a term through June 2022 and an additional term through December 2023 for FCC Commissioner Brendan Carr.

“The agreement to pair and confirm these nominees finally gives us a full FCC to decide important questions about spectrum management, the deployment of broadband to underserved communities, and building next generation wireless networks,” said Thune. “I congratulate Geoffrey Starks and Brendan Carr on this Senate action allowing them to turn their attention toward work benefiting the public.”

The Commerce Committee approved the nomination of Starks on June 20, 2018. First confirmed to the FCC on August 3, 2017, the Commerce Committee most recently approved Carr’s nomination for a second term on January 18, 2018.