Dakota State University to Host U.S. Senate Cybersecurity Field Hearing

September 3, 2015

Field Hearing

South Dakota Tunheim Classroom Building, Room 203 Dakota State University, Madison, S.D.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator John Thune (R-S.D.), chairman of the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee, will convene and chair a full committee field hearing entitled “Confronting the Challenge of Cybersecurity" on Thursday, September 3, 2015, at 2:30 p.m. CT (3:30 p.m. ET) at Dakota State University.

Dakota State University's Cyber Operations Program is nationally recognized by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security as a National Center of Academic Excellence, holding education, research and cyber operations designations. It is one of the first universities in the country to hold all three prestigious designations. Approximately 20 percent of students at DSU are involved in its cybersecurity programs.

·         Dr. Josh Pauli, Professor of Cyber Security and NSF SFS CyberCorps Program Director, Dakota State University (DSU)
·         Dr. Kevin Streff, Department Chair, Cyber Operations and Security, Dakota State University; Founder and Managing Partner, Secure Banking Solutions, LLC
·         Mr. Mark Shlanta, CEO, SDN Communications
·         Mr. Eric Pulse, Director of Risk Advisory Services, Eide Bailly
·         Mr. Jeremy Epstein, Lead Program Director, Secure and Trustworthy Cyberspace (SaTC) program, National Science Foundation (NSF)
·         Mr. Kevin Stine, Manager, Security Outreach and Integration Group, Information Technology Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Hearing Details:

Thursday, September 3, 2015

2:30 p.m. CT/3:30 p.m. ET

Full Committee field hearing at Dakota State University
Madison, South Dakota
Tunheim Classroom Building, Room 203

Witness testimony and opening statements are available on this page. A video of the hearing will be available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlJ_15Tez4A.

Majority Statement

  • Chairman John Thune

Witness Panel 1