Nelson Announces Commerce Democratic Subcommittee Assignments

February 12, 2015

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), the ranking member of the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee, today announced subcommittee assignments for Democratic committee members.  The subcommittee assignments are as follows:


Aviation Operations, Safety and Security                     


1.        Ranking – Maria Cantwell, Wash.

2.        Amy Klobuchar, Minn.

3.        Richard Blumenthal, Conn.

4.        Brian Schatz, Hawaii

5.        Edward J. Markey, Mass.

6.        Cory Booker, N.J.

7.        Tom Udall, N.M.

8.        Joe Manchin, W.V.

9.        Gary Peters, Mich.



Communications, Technology, Innovation, and the Internet         


1.        Ranking – Brian Schatz, Hawaii

2.        Maria Cantwell, Wash. 

3.        Claire McCaskill, Mo.

4.        Amy Klobuchar, Minn.

5.        Richard Blumenthal, Conn.

6.        Edward J. Markey, Mass.

7.        Cory Booker, N.J.

8.        Tom Udall, N.M.

9.        Joe Manchin, W.V.

10.   Gary Peters, Mich.



Consumer Protection, Product Safety, Insurance and Data Security             


1.       Ranking – Richard Blumenthal, Conn.

2.       Claire McCaskill, Mo.

3.       Amy Klobuchar, Minn.

4.       Edward J. Markey, Mass.

5.       Cory Booker, N.J.

6.       Tom Udall, N.M.



Oceans, Atmosphere, Fisheries and Coast Guard


1.       Ranking – Gary Peters, Mich.

2.       Maria Cantwell, Wash.

3.       Richard Blumenthal, Conn.

4.       Edward J. Markey, Mass.

5.       Brian Schatz, Hawaii



Space, Science, and Competitiveness         


1.       Ranking –  Tom Udall, N.M.

2.       Edward J. Markey, Mass.

3.       Cory Booker, N.J.

4.       Gary Peters, Mich.

5.       Brian Schatz, Hawaii



Surface Transportation and Merchant Marine Infrastructure, Safety and Security                                         


1.       Ranking – Cory Booker, N.J.

2.       Maria Cantwell, Wash.

3.       Claire McCaskill, Mo.

4.       Amy Klobuchar, Minn.

5.       Richard Blumenthal, Conn.

6.       Brian Schatz, Hawaii

7.       Edward J. Markey, Mass.

8.       Tom Udall, N.M.