Sen. Hutchison Applauds Final House Passage of Net Neutrality Resolution

Hutchison Anxious to Move Resolution Forward in the Senate

April 8, 2011

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas), Ranking Member on the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee, today applauded House passage of a resolution of disapproval under the Congressional Review Act (CRA) to repeal net neutrality regulations recently adopted by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC). The resolution was introduced by Energy and Commerce Chairman Fred Upton (R-Mich.) and Representative Greg Walden (R-Ore.). Senator Hutchison has sponsored an identical measure in the Senate, the Hutchison-McConnell-Ensign resolution, along with Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) and Senator John Ensign (R-Nev.).

“It is clear that members of the House are just as concerned as I am about the FCC overstepping its legal authority and moving to regulate the Internet. As the cosponsor of an identical measure, the Hutchison-McConnell-Ensign resolution, I am anxious to move this forward in the Senate,” said Sen. Hutchison.

The CRA allows for the expedited consideration of a privileged resolution of disapproval to stop a federal agency from implementing a rule or regulation with the full force of law.  It cannot be filibustered if acted upon within a specific 60-day window and needs only a simple majority in the Senate to pass.