Chairman Rockefeller on the 40th Anniversary of the First Moon Landing

July 20, 2009

WASHINGTON, D.C.— Senator John D. (Jay) Rockefeller IV, Chairman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, released the following statement today honoring the 40th anniversary of the first moon landing:
“Forty years ago, three brave NASA astronauts ventured into the unknown carrying an entire nation’s hopes and dreams with them. When Apollo 11 landed on the moon, Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin, Michael Collins, and the entire space program made history by showing the world that nothing is impossible. As we face today’s great challenges, I still remember the enormous pride and simple wonder that incredible moment inspired. Four decades later, the power and promise of bold steps toward new frontiers are as true as ever.”