Listening Session on the Safety of Chinese Imports: Oversight and Analysis of the Federal Response

July 18, 2007

253 SR

The Committee will hold a listening session on the safety of consumer products and food imported from China. The listenening session will focus on the consumer impacts from and federal agency responses to unsafe Chinese imports entering the United States. Comments will be heard from the following:

The Honorable Sherrod Brown, United States Senator, Ohio

The Honorable Nicole Nason, Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

The Honorable Nancy A. Nord, Acting Chairman, Consumer Products Safety Commission

Dr. Murray Lumpkin, Deputy Commissioner for International and Special Programs, Food and Drug Administration

Dr. William Hogarth, Assistant Administrator, National Marine Fisheries Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Dr. Donald Mays, Senior Director of Product Safety, Planning and Technology Administration, Consumers Union

Ms. Caroline Smith DeWaal, Director of Food Safety, Center for Science in the Public Interest

 Dr. Scott Gottlieb, Resident Fellow, American Enterprise Institute

Mr. Jay Timmons, Senior Vice President of Policy and Government Relations, National Association of Manufacturers