Full Committee Mark-up

June 23, 2005


253 SR
Senate Commerce Committee Co-Chairmen Ted Stevens (R-Alaska) and Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii) have scheduled a Full Committee Mark-up for Thursday, June 23, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. in room 253 of the Russell Building. The mark-up is open to the public.

Click here for audio of this hearing.

Following is the scheduled agenda (not necessarily in order of consideration):


S. 1281, NASA authorization

S. 1280, U.S. Coast Guard authorization


Edmund S. “Kip” Hawley of California to be Assistant Secretary of Homeland Security (Transportation Security Administration)

Israel Hernandez of Texas to be Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Director General of the United States and Foreign Commercial Service

William Jeffrey of Virginia to be Director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology

Ashok Kaveeshwar of Maryland to be Administrator of the Research and Innovative Technology Administration, Department of Transportation.

The Honorable David Sampson to be Deputy Secretary of Commerce

John Sullivan to be General Counsel, Department of Commerce

PN642 NOAA Officers

PN235 Coast Guard Admiral Sally Brice O’Hara

During the mark-up, S. 1281 and S. 1280 were ordered reported by unanimous rollcall vote of 22 yeas.

S. 1281 was reported with a manager's amendment, which was agreed to by voice vote.
Click here for a copy of the Manager's Amendment.

S. 1280 was reported with a Stevens amendment, which was accepted without objection.
Click here for Senator Stevens' amendment.

All nominations were reported by voice vote.

Ashok Kaveeshwar was confirmed by the Senate by unanimous consent on June 30, 2005.