Oversight Hearing on Pipeline Safety

Members will hear testimony about the Office of Pipeline Safety's (OPS's) implementation of the Pipeline Safety Improvement Act of 2002, including the status of pipeline integrity management in high consequence areas, OPS's policies for assessing fines and penalties on pipeline operators, and what progress has been made in coordinating the federal permitting process to allow pipeline repairs to be made in a timely manner. Senator McCain will preside. Following is a tentative witness list (not necessarily in order of appearance):

Go to the following website for audio webcast of hearing: http://www.capitolhearings.org/


  • Ms. Katherine Siggerud

    Director, Physical Infrastructure Team
    Government Accountability Office
  • The Honorable Mark Spitzer

  • The Honorable Kenneth Mead

    Inspector General
    U.S. Department of Transportation
  • The Honorable James L. Connaughton

  • Mr. Samuel Bonasso

Witness Panel 2

  • Ms. Lois Epstein

  • Mr. Robert T. Howard

  • Mr. Barry Pearl

  • Mr. R. Earl Fischer