Bipartisan Committee Leaders React to Introduction of New Cybersecurity Bill

March 1, 2012

WASHINGTON – The four original co-sponsors of bipartisan legislation designed to protect the nation’s most vital critical infrastructure - Senators Jay Rockefeller, D-W.Va., Joe Lieberman, ID-Conn., Susan Collins, R-Maine, and Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif. - issued the following statement Thursday on new cybersecurity legislation introduced by a group of seven Republican Senators:

“We are encouraged by our colleagues’ recognition that we must act to address the increasingly sophisticated and dangerous attacks on our national infrastructure.  We can no longer delay action on deciding how to deal with this critical issue and we are eager to work with them to bring comprehensive cyber security legislation to the Senator floor as soon as possible."