Senate Commerce Committee Chairman Rockefeller and Ranking Member Hutchison Announce New Subcommittees

February 12, 2009

WASHINGTON, D.C. – John D. (Jay) Rockefeller IV, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation and Ranking Member Kay Bailey Hutchison announced today the new Commerce Subcommittees for the 111th Congress:
Communications, Technology, and the Internet
Chair:  Senator John Kerry
Ranking:  Senator John Ensign
Aviation Operations, Safety, and Security
Chair:  Senator Byron Dorgan
Ranking:  Senator Jim DeMint
Science and Space
Chair: Senator Bill Nelson
Ranking:  Senator David Vitter
Oceans, Atmosphere, Fisheries, and Coast Guard
Chair:  Senator Maria Cantwell
Ranking:  Senator Olympia Snowe
Surface Transportation and Merchant Marine Infrastructure, Safety, and Security
Chair: Senator Frank Lautenberg
Ranking:  Senator John Thune
Consumer Protection, Product Safety, and Insurance
Chair:  Senator Mark Pryor
Ranking:  Senator Roger Wicker
Competitiveness, Innovation, and Export Promotion
Chair:  Senator Amy Klobuchar
Ranking:  Senator Mel Martinez