Chairman Rockefeller Applauds the Senate's Confirmation of FCC Nominees

July 24, 2009

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Senator John D (Jay) Rockefeller IV (D-WV), Chairman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, issued the following statement today regarding the confirmation of Ms. Mignon L. Clyburn and Ms. Meredith Attwell Baker, to be Members of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).

“I am incredibly pleased to see the President’s nominees, Ms. Mignon L. Clyburn and Ms. Meredith Attwell Baker, confirmed by the United States Senate. As a seasoned state regulator, Ms. Clyburn brings with her a strong understanding of the telecommunications challenges rural Americans face everyday. With Ms. Baker, I look forward to an insider’s perspective of someone who has toiled in the trenches at the NTIA. I challenge both of these devoted public servants to show us that the FCC can put consumers first. And I challenge both to show us that the American people can have access to first class communications, no matter who they are or where they live.”