May 3, 2025

Honorable Hal Rogers

Chairman

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, and Science

Committee on Appropriations House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Honorable Jerry Moran

Chairman

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, and Science

United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 Honorable Grace Meng Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, and Science

Committee on Appropriations House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Honorable Chris Van Hollen

Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, and Science

United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Rogers, Ranking Member Meng, Chairman Moran, and Ranking Member Van Hollen:

In March, President Trump laid out a series of challenges in his letter<sup>1</sup> to Michael Kratsios, Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Warning that "rivals abroad seek to usurp America's position as the world's greatest maker of marvels and producer of knowledge" the President laid out three challenges we must meet to "usher in the Golden Age of American Innovation" and "make America safer, healthier, and more prosperous than ever before:"

- (1) We must "secure its position as the unrivaled world leader in critical and emerging technologies," including by "accelerating research and development"
- (2) We must "revitalize America's science and technology enterprise," including by attracting top talent and celebrating merit.
- (3) Finally, we must "ensure that scientific progress and technological innovation fuel economic growth and better the lives of all Americans"

We believe these challenges can be met, but not with the draconian budget plan and staffing reductions just released by OMB. Such a budget would thwart scientific progress, decimate the research workforce, and take a decade or more to recover. Achieving the President's vision requires a major enhancement of the NSF budget, ideally a doubling of the FY25 level over the next few years and sufficient staff to execute this vision. In the current political climate, we know this is a bold request. We make it, nonetheless, to say — if we truly wish to realize this vision, we must commit to a historic investment in fundamental research and education in a manner that leaves no doubt about the United States' intentions with our international competitors.

We face a fork in the road. Do we want to win or concede the race for new knowledge and a competitive STEM workforce? For 75 years winning that race has been the foundation of American prosperity and national security. Adopting the proposed cuts would fast-track China's plans for technological dominance. As Senator Todd Young said in his March 25<sup>th</sup> Washington Post op-ed, "...Our policymakers should lock arms with the science-and-technology dreamers and doers across the country — from Silicon Valley to the Silicon Prairie — and recognize that basic research isn't a federal handout to help sustain academia. Instead, it is a vital ingredient in our innovation future, economic and geopolitical competitiveness, and national security."

It is critical for America's future to make the right choice. We stand ready to assist you and the country in any way possible.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> <u>A Letter from President Donald A. Trump to Michael Kratsios, Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, March 26, 2025.</u>

## Sincerely,

Former NSF Directors	Former NSB Chairs
France A. Córdova	Dians L'Arnaire
France Cordova, NSF Director 2014-2020	Diane Souvaine, NSB Chair 2018-2020
Reta R. Colevell	Ridal n. Zun
Rita Colwell, NSF Director 1998-2004	Richard Zare, NSB Chair 1996-1998
Walte E. Manay	Cay M. Sower
Walter Massey, NSF Director 1991-1993	Ray Bowen, NSB Chair 2010-2012
Neal Jane	Dan E Surzin
Neal Lane, NSF Director 1993-1998	Dan Arvizu, NSB Chair 2012-2016
Som Som	Ellen Ochoa
Subra Suresh, NSF Director 2010-2013	Ellen Ochoa, NSB Chair 2020-2022
(2. Mind C. Arreinsun	22T3L
Richard Atkinson, NSF Director 1976-1980	Maria Zuber, NSB Chair 2016-2018
	Doniel V. Red
	Dan Reed, NSB Chair 2022-2024

cc: The Honorable Donald A. Trump, President

The Honorable J.D. Vance, Vice President

The Honorable Michael Kratsios, Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

The Honorable Brian Babin, Chairman, House Committee on Science, Space and Technology

The Honorable Zoe Lofgren, Ranking Member, House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology

The Honorable Ted Cruz, Chairman, Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee

The Honorable Maria Cantwell, Ranking Member, Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee