

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

March 17, 2022

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Senate Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Republican Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Leader Schumer, Speaker Pelosi, Leader McConnell, and Leader McCarthy:

As you work to resolve differences between the House and Senate technology competitiveness bills (S. 1260 and H.R. 4521), we write to urge you to maintain the several provisions supporting the Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) contained in the Senate-passed legislation. These provisions make important set-asides for the 25 states and 3 territories that are currently underserved by federal Research and Development (R&D) programs and that participate in EPSCoR.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) launched EPSCoR in 1979 to reach states that have historically received a low share of federal research funds with the goal of enhancing their capacity to conduct nationally competitive research. This program has been replicated by other agencies, including the Department of Energy and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. However, despite the clear benefits and broad support for EPSCoR, severe regional inequities in federal research investment persist. The top six states and the District of Columbia alone receive nearly half of NSF funding. This perpetuates geographic disparities in research capacity, technology development, and economic opportunity.

The United States Innovation and Competition Act (USICA), passed by the Senate on a bipartisan basis, will help address this imbalance by setting aside for EPSCoR jurisdictions 20% of funds provided to NSF – including for research, scholarships and fellowships, and a new Directorate for Technology and Innovation – and 20% of additionally authorized research funds for the Department of Energy. These allocations will ensure that investments in R&D and technology development will increase the capacity and harness talent for innovation in all corners of the United States. At the same time, the significant increases in R&D funding authorized under USICA will bolster the entire research enterprise of the country and continue to support states that traditionally receive high levels of federal research dollars.

As you negotiate final legislation to improve U.S. competiveness, we urge you to incorporate the Senate EPSCoR provisions into the final bill. As senators representing EPSCoR states, this is a high priority for us in this legislation, and we look forward to working with you in getting it over the finish line.

Sincerely,

Jack Reed

United States Senator

Roger Wicker

United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper

**United States Senator** 

James M. Inhofe

**United States Senator** 

Christopher A. Coons

United States Senator

Roger W. Marshall Member of Congress

Patrick Leahy

**United States Senator** 

Jerry Moran

**United States Senator** 

Angus S. King, Jr.
United States Senator

James E. Risch United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

United States Senator

Luxan M Collins

Martin Heinrich United States Senator Bill Cassidy, M.D.
United States Senator

Bill Cassidy, M.D.

Margaret Wood Hassan
United States Senator

Cynthia M. Lummis United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

John Boozman United States Senator Ben Ray Lujan
United States Senator

Jon Tester United States Senator

Jacky Rosen
United States Senator

Joe Manchin III
United States Senator

Lindsey Graham United States Senator Charles E. Grassley
United States Senator

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

Tim Scott United States Senator

John Barrasso United States Senator

Kevin Cramer United States Senator Dan Sullivan

Low Nurbourde

United States Senator

John Kennedy United States Senator

Lisa Murkowski United States Senator Michael D. Crapo United States Senator

M. Michael Rounds
United States Senator

M. Muly for

Steve Daines
United States Senator

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

Richard C. Shelby United States Senator

Tommy Tuberville United States Senator Jeanne Shaheen
United States Senator