ROGER WICKER, MISSISSIPPI ROY BLUNT, MISSOURI MARCO RUBIO, FLORIDA KELLY AYOTTE, NEW HAMPSHIRE TED CRUZ, TEXAS DEB RISCHER, NEBRASKA JERRY MORAN, KANSAS DAN SULLIVAN, ALASKA RON JOHNSON, WISCONSIN DEAN HELLER, NEVADA CORY GARDNER, COLORADO STEVE DANIES, MONTANA BILL NELSON, FLORIDA
MARIA CANTWELL, WASHINGTON
CLAIRE MCASKILL, MISSOURI
AMY KLOBUCHAR, MINNESOTA
RICHARD BLUMENTHAL, CONNECTICUT
BRIAN SCHATZ, HAWAII
EDWARD MARKEY, MASSACHUSETTS
CORY BOOKER, NEW JERSEY
TOM UDALL, NEW MEXICO
JOE MANCHIN III, WEST VIRGINIA
GARY PETERS MICHICAIN

NICK ROSSI, STAFF DIRECTOR
KIM LIPSKY, DEMOCRATIC STAFF DIRECTOR

United States Senate

COMMITTEE ON COMMERCE, SCIENCE, AND TRANSPORTATION

WASHINGTON, DC 20510-6125

WEBSITE: http://commerce.senate.gov

November 15, 2016

The Honorable Tom Wheeler Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street SW Washington, D.C. 20554

Dear Chairman Wheeler:

Leadership of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) will soon change. Congressional oversight of the execution of our nation's communications policies will continue. Any action taken by the FCC following November 8, 2016, will receive particular scrutiny. I strongly urge the FCC to avoid directing its attention and resources in the coming months to complex, partisan, or otherwise controversial items that the new Congress and new Administration will have an interest in reviewing. There are certainly many consensus and administrative matters on which the Commission can instead focus its energies to conclude, including several items currently on the agenda for the Open Meeting scheduled to occur on November 17, 2016.

Sincerely,

JOHN THUNE

Chairman

cc:

The Honorable Bill Nelson, Ranking Member The Honorable Mignon Clyburn, Commissioner The Honorable Jessica Rosenworcel, Commissioner The Honorable Ajit Pai, Commissioner The Honorable Michael O'Rielly, Commissioner