

July 30, 2024

The Honorable Senator Ted Cruz Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation 167 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Ranking Member Cruz:

Internet Works, an organization of 20 small and medium-sized technology platforms dedicated to sustaining diversity and innovation across the internet, appreciates your leadership in championing the *Tools to Address Known Exploitation by Immobilizing Technological Deepfakes on Websites and Networks (TAKE IT DOWN) Act* as well as the strong bipartisan support from Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Ted Budd (R-NC), Laphonza Butler (D-CA), Todd Young (R-IN), Joe Manchin (I-WV), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), and Martin Heinrich (D-NM).

This important legislation would protect victims of non-consensual intimate imagery (NCII) – including images generated using artificial intelligence – published on the internet by criminalizing the publication of this material and requiring websites to have mechanisms in place to remove or disable these images. Internet Works strongly supports the intended goal of the *TAKE IT DOWN Act*, which would empower victims to remove NCII materials from the internet and end the cycle of victimization by those who publish this heinous content, and we support passage of the bill.

Internet Works and our member companies have also appreciated the opportunity to be a constructive partner with you and the committee staff to ensure the bill's intent is workable in practice without unduly infringing on the privacy of other law-abiding, upstanding users. We believe the substitute amendment helps improve the ability of small and medium-sized companies to comply with the intent of the bill and enable the greatest impact for victims.

We look forward to continuing to work with you and members of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation to improve the bill and be a thoughtful voice in preserving the internet as a place of limitless possibility for all Americans.

Sincerely,

Peter Chandler Executive Director

CC:

The Honorable Maria Cantwell, (D-WA), Chair The Honorable Amy Klobuchar, (D-MN) The Honorable Brian Schatz, (D-HI)



The Honorable Ed Markey, (D-MA)

The Honorable Gary Peters, (D-MI)

The Honorable Tammy Baldwin, (D-WI)

The Honorable Tammy Duckworth, (D-IL)

The Honorable Jon Tester, (D-MT)

The Honorable Kyrsten Sinema, (D-AZ)

The Honorable Jacky Rosen, (D-NV)

The Honorable Ben Ray Luján, (D-NM)

The Honorable John Hickenlooper, (D-CO)

The Honorable Raphael Warnock, (D-GA)

The Honorable Peter Welch, (D-VT)

The Honorable John Thune, (R-SD)

The Honorable Roger Wicker, (R-MS)

The Honorable Deb Fischer, (R-NE)

The Honorable Jerry Moran, (R-KS)

The Honorable Dan Sullivan, (R-AK)

The Honorable Marsha Blackburn, (R-TN)

The Honorable Todd Young, (R-IN)

The Honorable Ted Budd, (R-NC)

The Honorable Eric Schmitt, (R-MO)

The Honorable J. D. Vance, (R-OH)

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito, (R-WV)

The Honorable Cynthia Lummis, (R-WY)