Executive Session

The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation will hold an executive session on Thursday, January 18, 2018 at 11:00 a.m. in Hart 216 to consider the following presidential nominations.

Click here for additional information on nominees.


1.       Nomination of Leon A. Westmoreland, of Georgia, to be a Director of the Amtrak Board of Directors for a term of five years

2.       Nomination of Barry Lee Myers, of Pennsylvania, to be Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere

3.       Nomination of Diana Furchtgott-Roth, of Maryland, to be an Assistant Secretary of Transportation

4.       Nomination of Brendan Carr, of Virginia, to be a Member of the Federal Communications Commission for a term of five years from July 1, 2018

5.       Nomination of Ann Marie Buerkle, to be Chairman of the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), and to be a Commissioner of the CPSC for a term of seven years

6.       Nomination of James Bridenstine, of Oklahoma, to be Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration

7.       Nomination of Dana Baiocco, of Ohio, to be a Commissioner of the Consumer Product Safety Commission for a term of seven years from October 27, 2017

*Agenda subject to change

Executive Session Details:
Thursday, January 18, 2018
11:00 a.m.
Full Committee Markup
Senate Hart Building 216
Results of the markup can be found here 

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:

  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Majority Statement

  • Chairman John Thune

Minority Statement

  • Bill Nelson