Transportation Innovation: Automated Trucks and Our Nation's Highways

U.S. Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.), chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, will convene a hearing titled“Transportation Innovation: Automated Trucks and our Nation's Highways” at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, September 13, 2017. The hearing will examine the benefits of automated truck safety technology as well as the potential impacts on jobs and the economy.  Including or excluding trucks, buses, and other heavy duty vehicles has been a topic of discussion in ongoing bipartisan efforts to draft self-driving vehicle legislation.

“Self-driving technology for trucks and other large vehicles has emerged as a pivotal issue in Congress’ attempt to help usher in a new era of transportation,” said Thune. “This hearing will offer all members of the Commerce Committee the opportunity to hear expert testimony on the future highway safety benefits of applying automated technology to trucks as well as perspectives on excluding trucks from legislation affecting small passenger vehicles.”


-  Colonel Scott G. Hernandez, Chief, Colorado State Patrol
-  Mr. Troy Clarke, Chief Executive Officer, Navistar
-  Mr. Ken Hall, General Secretary-Treasurer, International Brotherhood of Teamsters
-  Ms. Deborah Hersman, President and Chief Executive Officer, National Safety Council
-  Mr. Chris Spear, President and Chief Executive Officer, the American Trucking Associations
* Witness list subject to change.

Hearing Details:

Wednesday, September 13, 2017
10:00 a.m.
Full Committee

This hearing will take place in Russell Senate Office Building, Room 253. Witness testimony, opening statements, and a live video of the hearing will be available

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:

  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Majority Statement

  • Chairman John Thune

Minority Statement

  • Senator Gary Peters


  • Colonel Scott G Hernandez

    Colorado State Patrol
    Download Testimony (421.10 KB)
  • Mr. Troy Clarke

    Chief Executive Officer
    Download Testimony (197.93 KB)
  • Ms. Deborah Hersman

    President and Chief Executive Officer
    National Safety Council
  • Mr. Chris Spear

    President and Chief Executive Officer
    The American Trucking Associations
    Download Testimony (604.94 KB)
  • Mr. Ken Hall

    General Secretary-Treasurer
    International Brotherhood of Teamsters
    Download Testimony (214.88 KB)